Ann Harvey’s Weblog

dedicated to the lives of those lost and retrieved at sea

Purpose

with 4 comments

I came across the story of The Wreck of The Despatch and the rescue efforts of The Harvey Family, in 2007. I was amazed that I’d never heard or read of the story. To date I haven’t found a single person who knows the story.. other than those involved either as descendants, historians, writers, artists, local Newfoundlanders or members of the Steering Committee behind the effort to establish Ann Harvey as a Woman of Historical Significance.

It seemed to me, that a Documentary Film or program might help.. I also started writing a Feature Film Synopsis with a fictional contemporary context and setting, that could encompass the Historical Events at Isle Aux Morts.

Along the way, I began researching the story.. to get a sense of who George Harvey was, the nature of ‘passage’ across the Atlantic in that era, the passengers and crew and ship, Newfoundland and its south coast, the locale of the wreck and rescue effort.. and to reflect the current status of the story.

Creating a Documentary and/or a Film is a major undertaking. If you work backwards, there’s audiences in Canada and the USA, and International audiences in countries such as Ireland and the UK.. perhaps even in other countries the story appeals to. Whether on televisions, via DVD or even online distribution that means ‘partnerships’ and ‘deal-making’. Working further back it means Production Companies and Networks are involved (and lawyers). That all takes MONEY .. Writing, soundtrack, camera work, graphics, photography, editing.. research, liaison, memos, phone calls, more research.

Well.. that’s where I sit today.. at the ‘more research’ stage.. as well as what we call the ‘preliminary development’ stage. Where I’m contacting Film Agents, Production Companies, Talent Agencies, Funding Sources, Networks, Film Boards etc etc. 

I’ve been down this road before.. perhaps not with a story of this significance.. or ‘weight’ .. and in the days and weeks and months to come, I’ll try to maintain a ‘log’ of how it unfolds, who I talked to, their interest or potential involvement. I just had a delightful conversation with Gordon Pinsent’s agent in regard to him being the narrator or even an on-camera host of the documentary.. I’ll update further, as we proceed.

Written by annharvey

May 23, 2008 at 6:22 pm

Posted in uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As Community Development Assistant for the town Of Isle aux Morts it’s my challenge to try and develop tourism infrastructure around this terrific story. I grew up in this community but none of us made a big deal of the story thinking one like this occurred in many spots around the island. Obviously it didn’t and what we have is a treasure. Our Harvey Story Steering Community will soon be looking for funding to help us interpret this story for our visitors. What a great feather in our hat it would be to have Gordon Pinsent narrate a documentary about our famous family. Great Job! You have my utmost cooperation for this venture. Maybe we really do have our own Ann (like Green Gables) here but with a major difference – she’s real!!!

    Blanford Billard

    May 30, 2008 at 9:42 am

  2. I am very interested getting involved in this. How can I? A production / documentary about Ann Harvey is important as well as any other appropriate recognition.
    Ann Harvey is my great, great great grandmother and I would like to see this story told to many people.

    Allison

    September 14, 2008 at 1:57 pm

  3. I am very interested in seeing this story told. My ancestors, John, Alice & Thomas Kane, were three of the 18 unaccounted for as Alice refused to get on another ship at that time. I believe Ken Burns that does a lot of Public Broadcast productions might take an interest in this. I’ll attempt to contact him through our local stations in Washington. I am also trying without luck to locate the original passenger list of the Despatch. Seems only thing available is the list of passengers that the Tyne picked up. Email if any luck in this respect or any other information. Thanks !

    Shawnee McCartor

    June 28, 2011 at 6:07 pm

  4. I am very interested in seeing this story told. My ancestors, John, Alice & Thomas Kane, were three of the 18 unaccounted for as Alice refused to get on another ship at that time. I believe Ken Burns that does a lot of Public Broadcast productions might take an interest in this. I’ll attempt to contact him through our local stations in Washington.

    Shawnee McCartor

    June 28, 2011 at 6:09 pm


Leave a Reply

